Clubs and Advisors

2017-2018 Eisenhower High School

Clubs and Advisors

Active club meetings can be found on the website either on the Club Calendar or weekly Student Notes.


Club

Advisor(s)

Book and Creative Writing

Advisors: Paula Stiff: paula.stiff@uticak12.org

& Holly Kralik: holly.kralik@uticak12.org

Description: Open to anyone who loves to read or write.

Meetings: Dates and times TBD. Location is rooms 131 and 135.

Qualifications: Everyone is welcome.

DECA

Advisor: Louise LaFaive: louise.lafaive@uticak12.org & Greg Diggs: gregory.diggs@uticak12.org

Description: DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.

Meetings: TBD

Qualifications: For students currently taking marketing classes which are; Marketing I, Marketing II, Small Business, and School Store.

Drama

Mission Statement:
Eisenhower Thespian Troupe #3901 strives to produce quality theatre and lasting relationships through a balance of dedication, hard work and enjoyment.

Advisor: Dave Springer: david.springer@uticak12.org

Description: We want anyone who is interested in making friends. Once involved, you may choose to get more involved and want to work on our theatrical productions. For those people, there is an opportunity to be a member of the International Thespian Society and go to the Michigan Thespian Festival in December. For our philanthropy, we have our own Relay For Life team for The American Cancer Society. While having an interest in theatre is a plus, it is certainly not necessary. Finally, many of our club members work behind the scenes, so being on stage is also optional.

Meetings: Once a month on Thursdays in Room 409.

Qualifications: Everyone is welcome to join.

Environmental

Advisor: Brygida Deriemaker: brygida.deriemaker@uticak12.org

Description: To increase awareness of environmental topics. We also do various activities as set up by the club.

Meetings: Usually 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of the month in Room 225 at 7:00 a.m.

Qualifications: A love for the environment and a passion to do something about it.

Film

Advisor: Josephine Braun: josephine.braun@uticak12.org

Description: Watch and create movies, compete in competitions or use the extra studio time to complete personal/school projects using the Adobe Creative Suite with students who have the same interests as you.

Meetings: TBD

French

Advisor: Daniel Wagner: daniel.wagner@uticak12.org

Description: Focuses on and promotes the French language culture outside of the classroom. Activities include French movie nights, interclub sporting events, French dinners, DIA field trip, and much more.

Meetings: TBD

Qualifications: Open to French students of all levels. Membership fee is $5.00.

Gay Straight Alliance (GSA)

Advisor: Kristin Oprita: kristin.oprita@uticak12.org

Description: The goals of this group is to help create a positive environment and positive relationships for all students. To provide information to students in search of it in a positive way.

Meetings: Every Thursday at 6:45 a.m. in Room 519

Qualifications: Everyone is welcome.

Hope for Homeless (H4H)

Advisor: Suzy Hahn: suzy.hahn@uticak12.org

Description: For students interested in helping homeless students in our building and local community.

Meetings: Last Thursday of the month at 2:15 p.m. in room 232B.

Qualifications: Open to all students.

HOSA

Advisor: Philip Crum: philip.crum@uticak12.org

Description: Club for students interested in medical field. Students compete in desired fields of interest and against other schools.

Meetings: Quarterly or as needed.

Qualifications: Membership and commitment to compete at regional competition.

Key Club

https://twitter.com/IkeKeyClub

Advisor: Linda Craun: linda.craun@uticak12.org & Linda-Ann Heldt (Utica Shelby Kiwanis Club)

Description: International student-led organization promoting the development of leadership and character through community service.

Meetings: Thursdays at 6:45 a.m. in the ECC. Service opportunities are scheduled after school, during school and on weekends. Officers also meet on Tuesday mornings.

Qualifications: Open to all students interested in community service. Members are asked to attend at least two meetings per month and sign up for service projects at least once a month.

Meditation/Prayer

Advisor: Josephine Braun: josephine.braun@uticak12.org

Description: Learn how to deepen your relationship with God and self. This club is non-denominational and students should be open to learning multiple meditation and prayer techniques that will benefit relaxation, building positive internal energy, developing confidence, compassion, love, generosity, and forgiveness.

Meetings: TBD

National Art Honor Society (NAHS)

Advisor: Jennifer Ramirez: jennifer.ramirez@uticak12.org

Description: National Art Honor Society provides avenues for the recognition of the artistic talents and leadership roles for visual arts students, while spotlighting the success and community work of your school’s art program.

Meetings: TBD

Qualifications: B average or better in any art class at any time throughout your high school career. 20 hours of community service. Fee of $10.00 to join covers our membership dues to NAEA and any other events that may require funds for startup.

National French Honor Society (NFHS) or Sociètè Honoraire de Francais (SHF)

Advisor: Daniel Wagner: daniel.wagner@uticak12.org

Description: “The aim of this organization shall be to stimulate interest in the study of French, to promote high standards of scholarship, to reward scholastic achievements, to create enthusiasm for an understanding of Francophone cultures, and to promote international friendship.” From SHF National Constitution.

Meetings: TBD

Qualifications: Candidates must be currently enrolled in French III or higher and must maintain an A average or higher in their French classes. Students must also be French Club members and need to pay a one-time initiation fee of $5.00.

National Honor Society (NHS)

Advisor: Shane Smith: shane.smith@uticak12.org

Description: “The National Honor Society (NHS) is the national’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.”

Meetings: Typically meet 1st Wednesday of every month at 6:45 a.m. in the PAC.

Qualifications: Members must demonstrate exceptional qualities in the four tenets: scholarship, service, leadership, and character. They must maintain a 3.50 or higher GPA, complete 40 service hours by graduation, and attend the monthly membership meetings.

National Spanish Honor Society (NSHS)

Advisor: Señora Monica Klesko: monica.klesko@uticak12.org

Description: A National Honor Society specific to high achieving students of Spanish. The organization celebrates the Hispanic culture on campus and in the community through on-site tutoring support and community outreach, among other opportunities. Members participate annually in the National Spanish Exam and may publish articles, poems and original artwork in the national club magazine, Albricias.

Meetings: The 1st Thursday of every month starting in October in Room 132.

Qualifications: Students must be a junior or senior with an Eisenhower SPA in Spanish of a 3.7+ and currently enrolled in Spanish III or higher. The new member affiliation period is typically the last two weeks of September when eligible students complete an application that includes an essay in Spanish.

National Tech Honor Society (NTHS)

Advisors: Philip Crum: philip.crum@uticak12.org, Ryan deCardenas: ryan.decardenas@uticak12.org & Jeffrey Kment: jeffrey.kment@uticak12.org

Description: Club is for students in the career and technical department.

Meetings: TBD

Qualifications: Must be in CTE class and have a 3.0 grade point average and completed community service hours.

Project Outreach

Advisors: Andrew Bulat: andrew.bulat@uticak12.org & Craig Pajak: craig.pajak@uticak12.org

Description: Our goal is to help people in need in our community and around the world.

Meetings: Twice a month after school.

Qualifications: Regular attendance at meetings and functions.

Project Unify

Advisor: John Morrison: john.morrison@uticak12.org

Description: Is a National club at Eisenhower that is linked directly with Special Olympics. We work with the special education/LCCE students during the year helping them to have a great high school experience. Do many events with the LCCE students including: Special Olympics, field trips, picnics, dodge ball Fridays, dance class, movie days, holiday parties, etc. We also go to varsity sporting events with them and plan events with the sports teams. Examples: BBQ with softball/baseball teams. Lunch with the hockey team and football tailgating. We also do many fundraising events with our big event being the Polar Plunge. One goals is to stop the use of the R word. “Spread the word to end the word.”

Meetings: 1st Monday of every month in the ECC.

Qualifications: Participate in at least 20 hours of community services. Attend monthly meetings and participate in at least one fundraiser to support our local Special Olympic athletes.

Quiz Bowl

Advisor: Gregory Diggs: gregory.diggs@uticak12.org

Description: Is a game in which two teams with five on a side compete head-to-head to answer questions from all areas of knowledge, including history, literature, science, fine arts, current events, sports, and popular culture. Meetings: Practice on Mondays (start in November) in Room 641.

Qualifications: No GPA requirement.

Science Olympiad

Advisor: Susan Ogden: susanrogden@att.net

Description: Students compete in STEM areas against other schools.

Meetings: Fridays after school in the Media Center. Partners meet various times and places with their coaches.

Qualifications: Any student who loves math and science.

Spanish

Advisors: Señora Monica Klesko: monica.klesko@uticak12.org & Señora Kelly Warzin: kelly.warzin@uticak12.org

Description: Participates in a variety of activities to celebrate the Hispanic culture as well as partners with the French, German and Japanese clubs to celebrate our common global interests.

Meetings: Spanish club officers meet the 2nd Thursday of each month. The general membership is invited to participate in events throughout the school year.

Qualifications: Open to any student, please see an advisor for details.

Students Taking Action Together in Christ (S.T.A.T.I.C.)

Advisor: Angelique Greer: angelique.greer@uticak12.org

Description: Students taking action together in Christ who want to meet new people and discuss scripture and it’s application to our daily lives.

Meetings: Thursdays in Room 215 from 2:15 p.m.–3:00 p.m.

Qualifications: Everyone is welcome.

Student Council (STUCO)

https://twitter.com/ikestuco

Advisor: Amber Bronson: amber.bronson@uticak12.org

Description: Student Council gives students an opportunity to explore their leadership talents while serving as representatives for their fellow classmates. Each class has approximately 21 elected representatives. These representatives have the duty to present the needs and concerns of their fellow students at bi-monthly meetings. These representatives also serve as the planning committees for several school wide social, charitable, community support, and academic activities. The students in this club work closely with administration and staff to create a learning environment that is inclusive and supportive. They work out of the Activities Office.

Meetings: The 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month in the Media Center. Special meetings and committee meetings are scheduled as needed.

Qualifications: Must maintain a 3.0 grade point average. Member in junior and senior classes are elected by popular election in the spring. Sophomore members are selected through an interview process.

Yoga

https://twitter.com/EisenhowerYoga

Advisor: Gretchen Champa: gretchen.champa@uticak12.org

Description: To increase your strength and flexibility, to improve focus and concentration and to add peace and calm to your life.

Meetings: Once a week for 60 minutes after school on Wednesdays in the PAC lobby. Attendance is not mandatory.

Qualifications: Everyone is welcome.